Micro for Noobies, Principles of using Infantry

A place to debate and share game or general military strategy/tactics.
Walderschmidt

Micro for Noobies, Principles of using Infantry

Post by Walderschmidt »

I'm by no means an expert, but micro is one of my stronger suit. That combined with several principles allows me to keep my infantry alive substantially longer than when I first started (instant vaporizations almost everywhere, it was painful).

1. Infantry Movement: Generally moving your infantry around

a) Never move in red cover unless there's no enemy nearby or you've got smoke on it. Your infantry gets vaporized on red cover. Red cover is lava! Usually red cover is roads or open water/swamps (except swamps are worse because they slow your infantry down).
b) Move from cover to cover when the enemy is nearby. Always finish your movement in cover if you can. That way if your squad gets unexpectedly attacked, you have time to react and they have a chance of not just holding off the enemy, but forcing them back too (sometimes 2 v 1 odds).
c) If you have more than one squad, try to have to one unit moving at a time, so you have one unit shooting at the enemy.

2. First Contact: The first time you see an enemy unit/first shots

a) If your infantry are moving to their infantry, stop them immediately! Your units shoot way more accurately standing still, while your enemy gets heavy accuracy penalties while moving (unless SMGs, and then they get smaller penalties). Done early on, this can allow pios to take out enemy engies, volks to rock rifles, rifles to rock grenadiers, so forth and so on (okay, Falls/Gebirgs will still rock your shit, but still).

or

b) If you're in red cover, get to green cover or yellow cover nearby. Red cover's too dangerous to stay in for more than a second, especially since all it takes is one guy in red cover to get your squad suppressed or to have a litany of negative effects applied to that unit.