Stuttering when playing CPU (British)

Do you have a problem with the mod? Ask here for help. But read the pinned topics, so that your request can be dealt quick with.
User avatar
adam-ze-shooter
Posts: 26
Joined: 19 Apr 2016, 23:00

Stuttering when playing CPU (British)

Postby adam-ze-shooter » 19 Jun 2018, 09:02

Hey Guys,

Pretty sure this has been answered before but couldn't find the topic. I only play BK skirmish against CPU but when I play against the British its almost unplayable as the lag and stuttering are massive. Anyone know of a solution or is this just how it is with the mod?

User avatar
Panzerblitz1
Team Member
Posts: 1514
Joined: 24 Nov 2014, 00:12
Location: Paris, right under the Eiffel tower.

Re: Stuttering when playing CPU (British)

Postby Panzerblitz1 » 19 Jun 2018, 10:22

Yes the british faction demand more cpu ressources, what kind of pc u r playing on? Do u have a good gpu? It was already like that with the original game when the opposing front update came with the british faction.
Image

Darkone7
Posts: 8
Joined: 16 Jun 2018, 08:11

Re: Stuttering when playing CPU (British)

Postby Darkone7 » 19 Jun 2018, 10:23

vanilla coh was already struggling with the single CPU core being stressed, with BK's added units, abilities, calculations it is just worse and there is pretty much nothing you can do about it except for reducing settings likes physics , effects density etc. try turning off the music and number of sounds too. and obviously a faster clocked CPU is always handy than a 99 core 2GHz one in case of coh. and try this old -novsync launch command line too if you don't know already.

another thing is, sometimes the british trucks (CPU) will set themselves up in ways that the units they produce get stuck thus increasing load on CPU especially with higher / 999 pop caps. you have to destroy those trucks to free up the clogging. other armies do this on bridge maps and maps with bad AI way points, scout the map and put some arty there.

finally as i am familiar with bk i can assure the newer bk version the worse AI, ofc it gets polished for PVP only. i remember versions like 486 being much stutter free in CPU skirmishes, i dunno how they messed up the AI but it is messed up than ever before. if you don't mind you can try versions like 486 but pity for it you need a legacy copy of 2.602 and stuff.

User avatar
Jalis
Posts: 422
Joined: 25 Nov 2014, 04:55
Location: Canada

Re: Stuttering when playing CPU (British)

Postby Jalis » 19 Jun 2018, 18:04

Hi Adam

My advice ; never play with (allied cpu) or against Brits. On an other hand you can play yourself Brits. Despite Wolfcz appreciated efforts, british are, at least, unreliable.

User avatar
adam-ze-shooter
Posts: 26
Joined: 19 Apr 2016, 23:00

Re: Stuttering when playing CPU (British)

Postby adam-ze-shooter » 20 Jun 2018, 05:26

Panzerblitz1 wrote:Yes the british faction demand more cpu ressources, what kind of pc u r playing on? Do u have a good gpu? It was already like that with the original game when the opposing front update came with the british faction.


Im running a OC i7-6700 and a OC gtx1070. Its such a old game i was guessing it was something to do with resources.

The New BK Champion
Posts: 105
Joined: 11 Feb 2018, 22:09

Re: Stuttering when playing CPU (British)

Postby The New BK Champion » 20 Jun 2018, 11:46

I have i7-7700, with intel turbo single core reaches 3,8 GHz and still game lags. This has nothing to do with PC specs, it's the faulty game engine, not designed to handle such pressure. Although I think that I saw a fix for brit ai somewhere, can't remember it now though.

User avatar
MarKr
Team Member
Posts: 2293
Joined: 23 Nov 2014, 19:17
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Stuttering when playing CPU (British)

Postby MarKr » 20 Jun 2018, 13:52

It is a result of several factors. PC specs play a role but if your PC is as fast as you describe it then the issue is not in the hardware. It is, as said above, in the engine. vCoH was designed to work basically on the system where you need to cap points to increase your total pop cap and thus have more units. This was sort of self-regulating mechanism because the number of resource points on map allowed only for certain limited ammount of units on the field. BK is mostly played on the fixed 250 pop cap and if you play vs "harder" AI then the AI cheats because it gets its resource income multiplied by some number so it has more resources and can afford to spam units like there is no tommorow. This in turn means that the engine needs to handle bigger number of units than what it was built for - it needs to handle their path finding, animations, calculate hit/miss per every shot fired, in case of hit it needs to calculate if the shot penetrates or not (if the shot misses it needs to calculate where the shot lands + it can still hit something on its trajectory), if it penetrates it needs to calculate damage and roll for crits, on top of that if a map is made poorly it can contribute to lagging...it is simply a lot to handle. It is also the reason why PvP games tend to lag a lot less - real players usually don't build as many units as AI and since units are commanded by players, engine does not need to care about commanding units.
It is simply one huge mess and the more units are on the map the more messy it gets.
Image


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests