5.3.0 - CW Artillery Spotter - Incorrect tooltip or incorrect call-in location

Do you have a bug to report? Do this right here.
Post Reply
RellHaiser
Posts: 19
Joined: 23 Mar 2016, 20:52
Location: Edmonton, Canada

5.3.0 - CW Artillery Spotter - Incorrect tooltip or incorrect call-in location

Post by RellHaiser »

Regarding the Artillery Spotters in Canadian Army Support for the British, the description states they can be dropped behind enemy lines but in practice they can only be dropped in territory you own.

Skimmed through several threads of change notes from 5.3.0 and the betas leading up to it and saw no mention of this unit so I'm not sure that is intentional. I think in previous versions you could drop it outside your territory, but not in fog of war.

Diablo
Posts: 334
Joined: 02 Mar 2017, 22:40

Re: 5.3.0 - CW Artillery Spotter - Incorrect tooltip or incorrect call-in location

Post by Diablo »

It's been this way for a long time. Now I can't say for the time before 2018, but as long as I remember this was the way for the CW spotter drop.
Only dropped in friendly territory and without crawl, you really have to use your brain while deploying. It's actually a bit tricky to use, which I don't hate.

User avatar
Lionelus
Posts: 77
Joined: 16 Dec 2015, 10:20
Location: Paris (France)

Re: 5.3.0 - CW Artillery Spotter - Incorrect tooltip or incorrect call-in location

Post by Lionelus »

Artillery spotters can be dropped "on" other friendly unit (aim the ability on it)

ex: while pushing with unit in enemy territory, drop an artillery spotter on this unit
Sneaking in a fast recon vehicule in enemy territory and dropping a spotter on it is viable move as well. Provided you play on a map big enough to maneuver, which is still quite rare nowadays on the lobby.

User avatar
MarKr
Team Member
Posts: 4073
Joined: 23 Nov 2014, 19:17
Location: Czech Republic

Re: 5.3.0 - CW Artillery Spotter - Incorrect tooltip or incorrect call-in location

Post by MarKr »

It had been changed before I joined the dev team. From what I remember, it was because people would drop the spotters next to enemy bases and kept bombarding them with offmaps all day long. So it is intentional, just the text hasn't been changed.
Image

Consti255
Posts: 1140
Joined: 06 Jan 2021, 16:12
Location: Germany

Re: 5.3.0 - CW Artillery Spotter - Incorrect tooltip or incorrect call-in location

Post by Consti255 »

keep in mind it is a "instant" spotter, that is even armed with a Lee rifle to fight enemy spotters, has Offmap call ins and aswell isnt expensive. On top, it is just 1 CP.
I think the arty spotters in general are one reason to pick canadians at first, since they are THAT strong.
Nerf Mencius

User avatar
Krieger Blitzer
Posts: 4997
Joined: 06 Dec 2014, 15:53
Location: I'm from Egypt, living in Qatar.
Contact:

Re: 5.3.0 - CW Artillery Spotter - Incorrect tooltip or incorrect call-in location

Post by Krieger Blitzer »

Ye, the RA spotter off-map is one hell of an orbital strike.
Not to mention the catastrophic aimed salvo ability combined with Priest.

User avatar
Warhawks97
Posts: 5390
Joined: 23 Nov 2014, 21:45
Location: Germany

Re: 5.3.0 - CW Artillery Spotter - Incorrect tooltip or incorrect call-in location

Post by Warhawks97 »

The spotter was originally a two men squad with the ability to drop anywhere. But it was way too OP even when this unit only had binoculars without any other ability. AB squad for this reason has no binos but can drop anywhere. But both combined, esspecially in teamfights, is extremely powerfull. Now add to that all the abilities it has. Thats why it got changed.

I think we had two ways to go. Either increase cost from 180 to well over 200 MP but would hamper its main role as arty spotters, or lower it two one men and only be dropped on friendly ground for lower cost. So we went the lower cost path but thus giving RA doc a more practically deployable spotter squad.
Build more AA Walderschmidt

RellHaiser
Posts: 19
Joined: 23 Mar 2016, 20:52
Location: Edmonton, Canada

Re: 5.3.0 - CW Artillery Spotter - Incorrect tooltip or incorrect call-in location

Post by RellHaiser »

Understood, thanks for the clarification.

I'll admit that I've been away from Blitzkrieg for a good while since it was mainly something I played at LAN parties with friends. Last time we were able to play was summer 2019, and at that point we were running legacy CoH for proper LAN support and version 4.9.8 of Blitzkrieg.

Post Reply