jagpanther camo

Do you have a bug to report? Do this right here.
User avatar
lunarwolf
Posts: 91
Joined: 26 Feb 2015, 12:00

jagpanther camo

Postby lunarwolf » 12 Dec 2017, 12:33

PE TH doc - jagpanther does not shoot when in camo, you need to manually do it. not a problem when you have just one tank, but becomes a pain to micro when fighting on different fronts simultaneously

also what happened to static quick fire position? not all bushes allow camo for some weird reason and also on some open maps no bushes to camo. why was this feature removed? instead we have tank facing ability, which is the dumbest ability ever. I could understand if it was reversing without exposing your backside ability, but as is it's basically useless. I doubt many people use this hold facing ability compared to previous fixed position which could rotate

User avatar
Tiger1996
Posts: 3537
Joined: 06 Dec 2014, 15:53
Location: I'm from Egypt, but I live in Qatar.
Contact:

Re: jagpanther camo

Postby Tiger1996 » 12 Dec 2017, 17:17

I think the static position was removed due to the fact that it caused some sort of a glitch for some players as they sometimes couldn't activate camo at all, and it does not auto-target stuff while in camo not to fire at infantry or jeeps and reveal itself against soft targets.

User avatar
lunarwolf
Posts: 91
Joined: 26 Feb 2015, 12:00

Re: jagpanther camo

Postby lunarwolf » 12 Dec 2017, 19:59

other tanks, like hertzer and jagpanzers work fine with camo, so it's a bug with jagpanther in my book.

and it doesn't autofire vs both tanks or light tanks which is a problem

also never had problem switching between static or camo before the change. for some reason the camo doesn't work with certain trees/bushes ie usually the non destructible ones you cant roll over with heavy tanks or bulldozer - this bush/camo issue has been the case for a while as far as I can remember.

User avatar
Warhawks97
Posts: 2719
Joined: 23 Nov 2014, 21:45
Location: Germany

Re: jagpanther camo

Postby Warhawks97 » 12 Dec 2017, 20:02

The problems didnt occur to all players. But to many it did. You might have been one having no issues. I also had no when others had but in the most recent 4.xx patches my camo was also bugged or even impossible.

User avatar
MarKr
Team Member
Posts: 2059
Joined: 23 Nov 2014, 19:17
Location: Czech Republic

Re: jagpanther camo

Postby MarKr » 12 Dec 2017, 21:45

The auto-targetting ability in camo of (I think ) all TDs was disabled because it was requested by players. They complained that with the auto-targetting the unit often shoots at some minor target (e.g. halftrack) while a second after the shot a more valuable targer gets in range (e.g. Pershing) and so the shot gets wasted.

The static position was removed for the reason people mentioned - for unknow reasons the camo was not working for some people. We asked for more information to track the bug but we got reports saying that in a test game one player tried to camo his unit in some position (worked), then moved his unit away and his team mate tried to camo the same unit in the same position and it did not work.
So we disabled the static position ability and kept only the camo which seems to have solved the camo issue for good.
Image

Mr. FeministDonut
Posts: 126
Joined: 13 Aug 2015, 21:05

Re: jagpanther camo

Postby Mr. FeministDonut » 12 Dec 2017, 22:53

Tiger1996 wrote:I think the static position was removed due to the fact that it caused some sort of a glitch for some players as they sometimes couldn't activate camo at all, and it does not auto-target stuff while in camo not to fire at infantry or jeeps and reveal itself against soft targets.

Just like hellcat.

User avatar
lunarwolf
Posts: 91
Joined: 26 Feb 2015, 12:00

Re: jagpanther camo

Postby lunarwolf » 13 Dec 2017, 09:14

MarKr wrote:The auto-targetting ability in camo of (I think ) all TDs was disabled because it was requested by players. They complained that with the auto-targetting the unit often shoots at some minor target (e.g. halftrack) while a second after the shot a more valuable targer gets in range (e.g. Pershing) and so the shot gets wasted.

The static position was removed for the reason people mentioned - for unknow reasons the camo was not working for some people. We asked for more information to track the bug but we got reports saying that in a test game one player tried to camo his unit in some position (worked), then moved his unit away and his team mate tried to camo the same unit in the same position and it did not work.
So we disabled the static position ability and kept only the camo which seems to have solved the camo issue for good.


1. it works for some tanks in camo (hertzer, jagpanzer) and not others (jagpanther) - this is inconsistent. there is also the ability to "hold fire" so a player can manually select the targets he wants to engage if he wants to micro. problem is when fighting multiple fronts you cants micro the whole map simultaneously. and leaving small vehicles pass by is an open door to exploit by saavy players to get behind the lines with light tanks etc..

2. re static position -> same "hold fire" ability is available so not really a problem to justify removing it.

conclusion "hold facing" for tanks with very narrow cones of fire is a terrible ability which was swapped in its place (I never use and would be interested to know how many actually use this effectively?)

whereas static fire was usefull, esp on open maps without cover like desert maps etc.


Return to “Bugs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest